Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve always collected music and I collect any type of media including CD, Vinyl, MP3, Cassette, you name it. (Yes, I like to have physical copies even though I use digital when traveling or at work.) I really enjoy looking at them while listening to them so I made this vinyl record holder so I don’t have to always lean the record on something to see it. If you have a similar need then this could be a fun and easy project for you.

Again, I had scraps from the TV Stand build and dreamt up this project to use them.

Here is what I did:

This is made from three pieces of wood. You can use any type of wood you like.

1 Front Piece (maple) measures 12-7/8″ x 1-1/2″ x 3/4″

1 Middle Piece (oak) measures 12-7/8″ x 3/4″ x 3/8″

1 Back Piece (maple) measures 12-7/8″ x 2-1/2″ x 3/4″

After I made those I sanded the pieces rather well because it is difficult to sand down in the groove where the vinyl sits once glued together. You don’t have to sand before you glue, but I would recommend it.

Then I scuffed the areas to be glued and glued them together. It sounds counter-productive but scuffing the gluing faces helps the glue grab the wood fibers and get a stronger glue joint.

Use at least 3 clamps, one on each end and one at the center, but it wouldn’t hurt to put on 5 or more!

Clean up any glue squeeze out and let it set up for 24 hours. (You don’t have to do 24 hours but it’s an old habit of mine. That’s how I do it.)

Twenty-four hours later I took it out of the clamps. Cleaned up any excess glue and sanded down to 600 grit. (Again, you don’t have to go that far but it’s something I like to do.)

Finally, put on the finish of your choice. For this I used Watco Natural oil. Easily found in hardware stores.

 

 

