Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There were a few scrap pieces (oak and maple) laying around after the TV Stand build. So I designed this box.

Pretty simple design, I just cut the sides to lengths I wanted. Cut 45 degree chamfers on the sides where they meet and then used the table saw to cut an insert for the bottom piece.

Then I had to resaw a piece thin enough to fit in the bottom insert I just cut. I used a framing clamp to clamp the box together but I didn’t bother putting glue in the bottom piece joint.

Finally I cut a lid and used a router to rabbet joint so it fit down in the box slightly.

The pictures shown here aren’t final. I still need to sand and finish it, but the wood working part is done.

*UPDATE: The final picture shows the box with a Watco Natural finish.

 

