Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

IMG_4640_B

Tailblock with a walnut end piece.

I have a few pictures of the dulcimer project. The first picture shows the tail block being glued to a piece of walnut. The tail block serves a lot of purposes. For this instrument (since it is designed to not have kerfing) it helps add a gluing surface for the back and soundboard. It also gives shape to the dulcimer because it is cut to match the taper of the final body shape. As I mentioned before this particular dulcimer is not designed to have kerfing but I’m going to add some anyway.

IMG_4656_B

Progress so far.

I managed to get the fingerboard and headstock ready and in place. I don’t have too much left so I’m going to try and come up with a custom design for the ‘f’ holes. It may take a little more time but I’m really not in a hurry. I’m just happy to be in the shop and able to be working on something.

IMG_4638_B

Walnut top and back.

If there are any other instrument builders out there with questions or comments please post them. I’m looking to network and learn a thing or two from you all. Thanks for looking and for your support! For more up to date posts you can check my Facebook page.

