Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

While sanding and doing the final touches on the classical guitar, I changed my mind about the type of finish I am going to put on it. Originally I was just going to do a spray on, water-based lacquer, but I’m honestly not a fan of acoustics having a gloss finish. I have a Taylor acoustic that is a flat finish and I think it is beautiful. Also, even though I have some equipment to do spray finishes I don’t have all the equipment and I just don’t have an adequate spray area. My shop is in my home (for now) and while that is the case I do not want myself or anyone else to have to breathe in spray fumes. I decided this time to experiment with “Tru-oil.” It’s meant for gun stock finishing but I’ve seen quite a few luthiers finish their guitars with this. I have personally never used it and that is another reason I decided on this type of finish. Since this project as a whole is an experiment, I might as well finish it with experimental finishes. That said, I ordered the “Tru-oil” and it is supposed to arrive next week. I’ll try to post progress as I apply it.

IMG_4453

Classical Guitar as of today. {that is just paper on the soundboard, don’t worry it won’t stay ;)}

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The other week I posted about a possible guitar restoration project. Turns out a friend of mine has a guitar that has been ruined over the years and gave it to me to attempt a restoration. Once again before I attempt anything I want to get some history on this guitar before I rip it to pieces. I do know it’s a silver tone and I also have the serial number. However I had no luck searching for the serial number online. Can anyone help with this? The serial number is 2293II710 (as best I can tell) and is also posted below.

Thanks for looking and for more up to date posts you can check my Facebook page.

IMG_4441

Silvertone Guitar

IMG_4448

The player side “f” hole is cracked and pushed in from the pressure of the bridge.

IMG_4444

Good view of the crack here.

IMG_4452

The shop is starting to fill with projects!

IMG_4449

Silvertone serial number

IMG_4450

