Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Doing any sort of binding on a guitar was a first for me. I decided to use plastic because it is easily bent and can be held in place with tape. I first routed the back of the guitar so that one big piece of binding would fit. I then routed the top for the same kind of binding and then made a second pass for the three smaller pieces of binding. It’s a bit hard for me to explain in words so hopefully the pictures speak for me.

Gluing four pieces of plastic binding around a guitar while the cement dries almost instantly was very difficult. And I learned a few lessons I won’t soon forget! Once I got the tape off (as you can see in the photos) I had a mess on my hands. However, I was slow and persistent and finally got it to a quality that I wasn’t ashamed of. I still need to do some final sanding and scraping but over all I think it came out nice.

Lastly and quickly, on the bottom of the guitar where the strap pin goes I decided to just put some wood filler in there and give it a more natural look. You can put tail pieces in but for this I felt wood filler would do just fine.

Thanks for looking and for more up to date posts you can check my Facebook page.

IMG_4288

Top routing. First cut.

IMG_4282

Top routing. First cut.

IMG_4281

Instead of putting in a tail piece I decided to just fill the crack.

IMG_4279

Top routing. This shows how the cross bracing from the soundboard will be covered by the binding.

IMG_4277

Top and bottom routing.

IMG_4275

Bottom routing.

IMG_4271

Top routing.

IMG_4270

Top routing.

IMG_4322

Bottom being glued and taped.

IMG_4321

Bottom being glued and taped. Sloppy work, but that glue just ran everywhere. It dries so fast I was more worried about getting the binding in.

IMG_4320

Bottom being glued and taped.

IMG_4319

Top routing with both channels cut.

IMG_4318

Extreme close-up of both top channels. Look how smooth, awesome!

IMG_4317

…and another

IMG_4345

Back binding being all blended together.

IMG_4343

Trying to keep the workspace tidy.

IMG_4346

Back binding before final sanding.

IMG_4347

Top four bindings glued in and taped.

IMG_4360

A giant mess. I’m embarrassed to post these but it’s the truth of what happened and I was able to fix it so that makes up for it.

IMG_4359

More mess.

IMG_4358

The entire mess.

IMG_4374

The four plastic bindings for the front side alone. See how tiny they are?

IMG_4373

Still tiny.

IMG_4368

Most of the mess cleaned up. I’m still going back daily and slowly cleaning up as I see things. It’s quite tedious.

IMG_4369

The back. Again, mostly cleaned up but I’m still making it better. In this picture there is a little chip out at the bottom but it is now fixed.

