Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Before the soundboard installation I had a few details to take care of:

Firstly, I had to install side braces for added strength and support. I took some time with them and shaped them to look better than flat pieces of wood. Just in case anyone would look inside someday. I spaced them accordingly and glued them into place.

Secondly, when the back was glued on there was an excess of wood left to trim flush with the sides. This is surprisingly delicate work as you do not want to mar the sides or the back. Also, I had to trim away the sides to reveal the dove-tail joint. This was routed into the neck block a few years ago when I started this project. Obviously this is where the neck attaches to the body.

Lastly, I made my own sound-hole label in AutoCAD. I went with a nautical/mapping theme since I’m a cartographer by day. Also, who doesn’t like maps, right? Then, I did a quick vacuum job to get any wood chips/dust out and I am ready to glue on the soundboard.

IMG_4196

Side Bracing

IMG_4197

Side Bracing

IMG_4199

Side Bracing Installed

IMG_4200

Side Bracing Installed

IMG_4198

Excess wood on Back

IMG_4261

Excess wood Trimmed flush

IMG_4201

Sides trimmed to match dove-tail joint for neck

IMG_4204

RDS Sound-hole Label

