Tags

, , , , , , , ,

For those of you following this blog so far I want to just say this is a progress report and not a in-depth how-to.

Cross Brace Notches

Cross Brace Notches

I started the soundboard bracing by notching the cross braces (which are the backbone of the whole soundboard bracing) so they interlocked. All it took was some measuring skills and a razor blade.

As you can see in the pictures I drew where all the braces would go directly onto the back of the soundboard. This helped me ensure that everything would be centered and made it easier to mark the braces for interlocking cuts (since all the braces on the soundboard are notched to interlace to one another.) 

I have included other pictures showing the cross braces notched fitting and the cross bracing glued down.

Notched to fit

Notched to fit

Cross Brace

Cross Brace

Cross Brace Being Glued

Cross Brace Clamped

Glued Cross Brace

Glued Cross Brace

